Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Cheapskates in Love by Evelyn Jules

Elena Armstrong & Ben Kessel's book

Cheapskates in Love

by Evelyn Jules

Book Blurb:It’s couples skating night down at the local rink and Elena Armstrong can’t seem to keep her cocky jock blind date around long enough to knee him in the balls. Sadly, she was too much of a cheapskate to pay for a membership to an online dating site and based everything on Leonard’s personality profile alone. Big mistake.
At the opposite end of the rink, Ben Kessel, another cheapskate on a blind date with Iris, the ice princess, is having a similarly miserable time. Elena, a hater of all things sports-related, inches out into the skating world butt-first and collides with Ben. After sharing their hilarious and horrifying dates-gone-wrong stories, the two disappear and make everything right again on the floor in the players’ dressing room. Almost everything. They forget to exchange numbers. Now these two cheapskates need to make the ultimate sacrifice: pay for a membership to the online dating site so they can track each other down. But is the possibility of love really worth the price of $24.95 per month?

How adorable is that cover?!?!?

I immediately fell in love with Cheapskates in Love and was really disappointed that it ended too quickly. This couple demanded a full novel!

Cheapskates in Love is my third time reviewing a novella by Evelyn Jules and I think it is high time that she write a full length story. I ADORE her heroines. They have all been so fun and Elena is a great addition to that club. 

When I think of a romantic date, certain scenarios pop into my mind. Ice skating is one of them. That is why I was smiling while reading about both Ben and Elena meeting at the ice rink while on dates with other people. I was cracking up reading about the personalities and the hilarious descriptions of those other dud dates. I suppose when you try out the online dating game, you have to kiss a lot of toads to get to that one prince. 

It made me smile that both Ben and Elena aren't really getting the best selections lined up for their blind dates.  They are both too cheap to spring for the full dating package offered by the online dating service. I know that there are some real cheapskates out there that can relate to their monetary dilemma. 

As I was reading along loving the chemistry that Ben and Elena were experiencing with their laughs and banter that I completely forgot that this is suppose to be an erotic novel. I actually wanted them to continue with their joking and date longer instead of getting to the hot steamy stuff. Now that ought to tell you something right there!

It was so refreshing to read an erotic themed novella that was light and contemporary. 

Teasers:, The big dope and the ice princess, damn coccyx, 555-bite me

Sunday, January 27, 2013

Outlander Fan Art by the gifted Alex Oliver

When there is a huge fan following as there is with Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series, each fan has and is entitled to their own impression as to what the characters look like. 

Many take hours to scour the internet looking for pictures of ginger headed actors and curly locked actresses who could best portray their visual sense of what "their" Jamie and Claire look like. 

To be perfectly honest, I have yet to see any actor or actress out there that really captures what I think the Fraser's look like. 

There are a few very talented people out there that have the ability to actually draw what they see. Oh how I wish I had this talent but I don't. I can't even make a stick person properly. 

I have found a few folks that have really captured and match how I see Jamie and Claire in my mind. I'd like to share some of the work of Alex Oliver. I was granted her permission to share with you. 

Below is a graphic screen shot of her visual interpretation of my most favourite scene in the entire Outlander series. Who can forget the reunion scene from Voyager

Stunning portrayal of Claire at her different ages.

An exceptional job of Jamie at his different ages. 

What about you? Do you search the internet looking for pictures of what you think your favourite fictional character looks like? 

Saturday, January 26, 2013

A New To Me Author - Highland Destiny by Laura Hunsaker

This year I made a New Year's Resolution to read a "new to me" author at least once a month. So today is the first author in my resolution series. 

Mackenzie Steward and Connor MacRae

Highland Destiny (Magic of the Highlands #1)

by Laura Hunsaker

Book Blurb:
Mackenzie Stewart’s in Scotland for a much-needed vacation. During the castle tour, Mackenzie becomes completely enamored with a painting of one of the previous lairds. Two gentlemen come up behind her and, begging her pardon, they kidnap her, dragging her through time.
The men are sorcerers attempting to end a feud that has plagued their lands for years. Their patron has begun to dabble in the black arts, and between his irrational thirst for power, and his dark secret, the sorcerers are frightened. They believe Mackenzie can break the Stewart curse. They try to convince her to play along with their crazy scheme: marriage to the evil John Campbell.
Before Mackenzie can protest, her carriage is halted and the door thrown open. For a split-second she is arrested by the same beautiful piercing blue eyes that belonged in an oil painting.
Mackenzie then finds herself the victim of a second kidnapping!
Her new captor, however, does nothing but tempt her body and her temper. Believing her to in fact be the betrothed of his mortal enemy the Campbell, Connor originally sets out to capture his enemy’s betrothed. He never thought he would be so attracted to her that he’d want to keep her.

It is kind of interesting that I use the above picture of Castle Eilean Donan as the header for historical romances on all of my blog reviews (of that genre) because that is exactly the location of Highland Destiny. Castle Eilean Donan is the setting for the story. Cool!

As I had mentioned at the top of the blog post, I made a new year's resolution to read a "new to me" author at least once a month. I chose Highland Destiny for two reasons. One, hello sexy highlander! And two because I follow Laura Hunsaker on Twitter. I was drawn to her because she does not clutter up my Twitter feed with "buy my book" tweets and it was her personality on Twitter that had spoke to me. So there you go. Proof you don't have to force feed "buy my book" posts to grab the attention of readers. I purchased Highland Destiny on my own and I did not get a copy from the author. 

I have to preface that I am in love with Scotland and I have read a lot about the beautiful country. I've done a lot of research as well.  Highland Destiny is not a historically accurate book. So once I got my head around the fact that even though I was reading about Scotland 1792, its not factually Scotland 1792. If you are able to move past that hurdle you should be fine.

The premise of Highland Destiny was a sure winner. My interest was peaked when I read that the story was going to be about a modern day woman being whisked back in time to help save some Scottish clans from a long ago curse. I really liked how the story formed and that Mackenzie was enamored by a painting of Castle Eilean Donan's former handsome laird, Connor MacRae. I may have had a fantasy a time or two very similar as to how this story played out. 

As Mackenzie is thrust back in time by two sorcerers I was a bit disappointed with lack of luster with the actual travel event. One minute she is in modern times then as she passes through a hidden tunnel she is just magically back in time. 

I enjoyed the tactic in which Mackenzie and Connor meet. It was amusing that there were fireworks right away. Mackenzie quickly softened and trusted Connor enough, even after having been kidnapped twice in the same day, to comfortably fall asleep snuggled against him while riding on a horse. 

I didn't like how the point of view was constantly changing back and forth. A chapter would play out with details about how Mackenzie was feeling and her reactions to situations and then after a pause-break the entire scene was retold but now from Connor's point of view. This style of writing is way up there with my least favourite way to read a book. It felt very repetitive and I honestly prefer not to know everything that the other person is thinking in that exact same situation. I'd rather have the mystery of not knowing what the other person's thoughts are. 

My favourite scene is when Connor and Mackenzie return back to his castle and she is trying to change into clothes from the eighteenth century. She has no idea how stays go on or what to layer on next. I loved how Connor had to help her get into the clothes. Usually we read about highlanders taking off the ladies clothes not helping put them back on. That was fun. 

I am one of these romance readers that love the heroines just as much (if not even more) than the heroes. I adore books that portray the female lead as smart and making good decisions. I groan when I read a story where the plot is furthered along and conflicts arise because of bad decisions made by the heroine. My tolerance for Mackenzie was admittedly borderline. She was brave, sweet, kind and all of that wonderful stuff that makes for great heroines but I didn't care for how she made her choices towards the villain's plot-line of the story. Mackenzie would be committed in her decision, follow through with her actions and then numerous times I'd read, "This is all my fault" or "What did I do?" I would have wanted to reach into my Kindle and throttle her if it wasn't for the blatantly obvious set up. 

I don't like to share spoilers but I did really enjoy the ending. The story nicely wrapped up. It left me longing to visit Castle Eilean Donan to check behind tapestries and visit the ruins of Castle Urquhart (which were actually already in ruins by 1792).  

Teasers: iPod with bagpipe music, waaaaay to early to suspect that she was pregnant, shot by arrow, magical dagger

Friday, January 25, 2013

Magic Gifts by Ilona Andrews

Kate Daniels book 5.4

Magic Gifts

by Ilona Andrews

Book Blurb:This novella takes place at the same time as Andrea’s book, Gunmetal Magic and right after MAGIC SLAYS, and the two stories intersect. 
A dinner date after a hard day at work sounds heavenly. Of course, when that date is between the Beast Lord and Kate Daniels, things don’t go as planned. Before you know it, undead are running amok, heads are being chopped off, lawyers are deployed and used with extereme prejudice, and drunk vikings are calling people out.

A total bonus (that I was not expecting) was this extra novella at the end of Gunmetal Magic. I may or may not have squee'd with excitement!

In Gunmetal Magic (Andrea's story) we learn that Kate and Curran are busy with some Vikings. With this little gem of a novella, the readers get to learn what was behind that Viking quest. Magic Gifts and Gunmetal Magic nicely compliment each other as they overlap in their story lines. When I was reading Gunmetal Magic I wanted to know what was up with Kate and Curran and Magic Gifts gave the readers that satisfaction. It was wonderful of Ilona Andrews to include at the end because I found that I was really craving Kate and Curran. 

Magic Gifts may have been a novella but it felt longer than most. The story was not as long as a regular Kate Daniels' book but I certainly finished it off completely satisfied. Magic Gifts is not a stand alone story and if someone were to purchase it without the background, they'd be lost. 

Teasers: so much for a normal date, scary necklace, tricking the vamps

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Gunmetal Magic by Ilona Andrews

Kate Daniels World book 1
Andrea Nash's book

Gunmetal Magic

by Ilona Andrews

Book Blurb:After being kicked out of the Order of the Knights of Merciful Aid, Andrea's whole existence is in shambles. She tries to put herself back together by working for Cutting Edge, a small investigative firm owned by her best friend. When several shapeshifters working for Raphael Medrano--the male alpha of the Clan Bouda, and Andrea's former lover--die unexpectedly at a dig site, Andrea is assigned to investigate. Now she must work with Raphael as her search for the killer leads into the secret underbelly of supernatural Atlanta. And dealing with her feelings for him might have to take a back seat to saving the world... 

First off, that is a rocking cover! I totally pictured Andrea just as the model appears. I soooo love when the cover models matches my imagination. 

I finished the Kate Daniels' books from her original series, paused for a day and then craved more so I went back to see what else I could get from Ilona Andrews. This Amazon search is when I saw Gunmetal Magic and decided to immediately "click to buy". Well it was a no brainer really. I must quickly add, if you have not read the Kate Daniels' books first, I really think you will be lost here. 

I liked Andrea enough in the Kate Daniels' books so I wasn't hesitant at all to read a full length story. I have to say though, I think I liked her more in the Kate Daniels' books than in her own story. I found that there were so many times that she annoyed the absolute hell out of me. One good thing though, reading Andrea in Gunmetal Magic is not like reading a cloned Kate. For that I was really happy. I adore Kate far too much to have Andrea be just like her. Speaking of Kate, she and Curran are in Gunmetal Magic but only for a few short scenes. Make no mistake, Gunmetal Magic is all about Andrea.

There are times where Andrea was just too (looking for the right word here)...tough?? But not naturally tough. It seemed forced or like she was constantly trying to prove herself as a bad ass. "Watch me boys while I show you how to properly intimate a human." That was a total impression I got. I did roll my eyes a few times as well. 

Raphael, thankfully is back! He is still a spoiled man and he still comes across as feeling entitled but not in a way that drives me crazy.  It's just who he is. He doesn't frustrate me at all and he helped deliver lots of smiles for me. I was very appreciative of those smiles because Gunmental Magic didn't have too many of the funny quips that Kate's books deliver. In fact, I didn't even tag, highlight or save any quotes or bookmarks. Not to say there weren't a few *cough* purple carpet *cough* memorable scenes but I would have loved more. 

The secondary characters in Gunmetal Magic are as usual absolutely fabulous. I am really digging the young were-hyena, Asciano. I love that Ilona Andrews has a great mix of ages and ethnicity in her stories. I enjoy them all. 

I was really surprised that Roman came back in this story. Now him, I adored. He is supposed to be a badass in a robe with all his dark and evil magic but I can't help but love his personality and jokes. His comebacks are awesome and he just fits so well in this world. I would love to see him get his own book some day. I think the Roman scenes were my favourite in the entire book. 

So despite that Andrea didn't rock my world I did love the story, the snake investigation, the bits that we were teased with Kate & Curran, all the secondary characters were awesome and the ending was climatic and fabulous. 

Teasers: story of Gods, snakes, mythical creatures, battle a giant

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews

Kate Daniels book 5

Magic Slays 

by Ilona Andrews

Book Blurb:Plagued by a war between magic and technology, Atlanta has never been so deadly. Good thing Kate Daniels is on the job.
Kate Daniels may have quit the Order of Merciful Aid, but she’s still knee-deep in paranormal problems. Or she would be if she could get someone to hire her. Starting her own business has been more challenging than she thought it would be—now that the Order is disparaging her good name, and many potential clients are afraid of getting on the bad side of the Beast Lord, who just happens to be Kate’s mate.
So when Atlanta’s premier Master of the Dead calls to ask for help with a vampire on the loose, Kate leaps at the chance of some paying work. Turns out this is not an isolated incident, and Kate needs to get to the bottom of it—fast, or the city and everyone dear to her might pay the ultimate price . . .

Wow these stories just keep getting better. 

I love when authors can prove that characters can be together as a couple and still have awesome storylines! I think Magic Slays just may be my favourite book yet and with Kate and Curran's private moments in their Keep apartment being my favourite part of the story. I just want to clarify here; I don't mean sex. I just mean the two of them joking around and being together unguarded and relaxed. No kick ass, Kate or bossy alpha man, Curran. 

There are a lot of background stories revealed in Magic Slays. The readers learn some more insight into Kate's childhood and her fabled thoughts towards her parents are crushed. We also experience what happens when technology and magic go head to head as extremists try to swing the pendulum all the way over to one direction.  There is a lot of hate with these extremists. So much hate that they don't mind having children and innocent adults (normal humans) just like themsleves be murdered for their cause. Its always a low part of humanity when groups ignore death and destruction just to meet their goals. You can feel the hatred drip off the pages and you just want to punch them. Lots of emotions surface in Magic Slays

Kate gets her first real case at her new Pack sponsored business, Cutting Edge Investigations. With no real solid leads I was amazed on just how smart Kate and her best friend Andrea are with the breadcrumbs of clues. (Yes Andrea comes back!) Ilona Andrews effectively writes how all of the clues slowly fit together as the story enfolds. I know that I was half way through the book and I was astounded how far the investigation came with just the tidbits of information. 

Magic Slays was a great title for this book because it was a real insight on how the magical community (for once) had to come together and actually work together to eradicate the enemy. That was a tough go for some of those powerful closely knit groups who prefer isolation and deep secrets. 

Another story within Magic Slays is Kate's acceptance within the Pack and her role as the alpha mate. That has got to be a hard job to be the alpha mate of a community of shapeshifters and you aren't even a shapeshifter yourself. Not to mention, her entire life Kate has avoided having friends and being responsible for anyone but herself. Now she finds that she in charge of massive group of powerful and sneaky clans who are constantly trying to be thwart and challenge her. 

Kate does some wicked cool magic in this story too. I won't release spoilers but lets just say that she may kick ass in a fight but she is really starting to kiss ass with the magics. Through it all, she somehow remains so grounded and real. 

Teasers: Andrea comes back from the Order and stays, the truth of Kate's dad & mom, volhvs & the witches (they're related! who knew?), weapon of mass destruction that started with good intentions

Sunday, January 20, 2013

Magic Dreams by Ilona Andrews

Kate Daniels book #4.5
Jim & Dali's story

Magic Dreams

by Ilona Andrews

Book Blurb:Alpha Pack leader Jim Shrapshire has always been the strong, silent type. But something has come over him--a magic force currently residing in one of the Pack's headquarters. Were-tigress Dali Harimau has always wished she could get Jim's attention--but now he needs her help.
Stricken with a magic-sickness, Jim needs Dali's flair for magic. And to save him, she must challenge a powerful, dark being to a battle of wits.

Yes, I am just pumping through these books! Haven't done much else either. 

I was going to read the entire series first and then go back and try to read some of these in-between books but I was just drawn to Jim in this series and couldn't wait. I wanted to read a bit more about Jim and since we were introduced to Dali in an earlier book, it gave me the incentive to buy it. 

Magic Dreams is still 100% the Kate Daniels' world. The funny thing about this story is Dali really loves Jim (from afar) and Jim loves Dali (from afar) so Magic Dreams just gave the reader a treat in witnessing them finally come together. 

Dali's mom was the scene stealer in Magic Dreams. I could picture her vividly talking and being as animated as her descriptions read. I loved their mother/daughter relationship interactions. I am a fan of the fact that Kate Daniels' world involves all different sorts of nationalities and cultures. It just enhances the story over all. Indonesia women are beautiful and even if Dali doesn't think she is, her modesty, bravery and loyalty is extremely attractive. It didn't come across that she had low self esteem, she just didn't think she was beautiful. 

Jim on the other hand, thinks that Dali is beautiful and as such, he even thought it was worth learning her native first language. I adore that he is so alpha yet needs to tread carefully around Dali to hide his feelings. 

As always there is a big yucky villain and Dali's creative calligraphy magic is used to save Jim. It was not lost on me that Jim is a major alpha and Dali is a bespectacled short woman who bravely saves the day. 

Teasers: hand holding moment that I loved, spidery magic, family force

Saturday, January 19, 2013

Magic Bleeds by Ilona Andrews

Kate Daniels book #4

Magic Bleeds

By Ilona Andrews

Book Blurb:Kate Daniels keeps the peace in Atlanta for the Order, humans caught between the vampire controlling People led by her biological father and best kept secret, Roland, and the shape-shifter Pack, led by her mate-to-be Curran, the Lord of the Beasts. But her look-alike aunt Erra, Babylon's god of chaos and terror, has come to town controlling seven naked warriors: Deluge (flood water), Tremor (earth quake), Gale (hurricane wind), Torch (fire inferno), Venom (disease poison), Beast (animal monster), and Darkness (overpowering dread).


I am trying to stop and leave a review before I dive into the next book. 

I am pretty sure if I looked up AWESOME in the dictionary I should find Magic Bleeds as the definition. I think after this book 4, the Kate Daniels series has moved up from my "Awesome" category to "EPIC". Very few have made it on that list. 

There are a lot of mind boggling fighting scenes in Magic Bleeds. I don't even know how a special effects Hollywood crew could replicate what I imagine from the descriptive pages of Magic Bleeds. The choreographing is one thing but mix that with the circumstances, the adrenaline rush and the wild orchestral battle scene music playing in my head is pretty much spectacular. Each book seems to end off with a major fight battle scene and Magic Bleeds certainly tips the scales over to the phenomenal realm. We can thank Kate's fight with her biological twin looking aunt for the action. Oh yes, there is a wee spoiler for you. 

Now to offset all of this violence, I also found Magic Bleeds to be one of the more humourous books so far. I found I was quoting and bookmarking more than usual. 

“I can't give you the white picket fence, and if I did, you'd set it on fire.” 

I paused with the pen in my hand. "He burst into flames?"
"He became engulfed in fire"

“Was his buddy made out of orange rocks and did he at any point yell 'It's clobbering time'?"
"I find your attempt at levity inappropriate."
"Consider me properly chastised.” 

"Every woman should be told she's attractive. Men are seduced by their eyes, women by their ears."  

I know I could keep pasting because the quotes are numerous. 

Kate and Curran take a relationship leap in Magic Bleeds and just like the beginning of the series, it is not rushed. I LOVE that there are  no silly misunderstandings thrown in this story (THANK YOU Ilona Andrews) There are no complicated conflicts that are holding them back. Just good old fashion nerves to be the one to make the first move. Of course the first move needs to be translated into shapeshifters and pack culture but I am pretty sure the catnip Kate spreads all over Curran's bed got the message across. 

On to book 5!!!

Teasers: Story of the first vampire, Grendel the attack poodle with mad skills, literally gluing Kate's ass to a chair, sealing the slut hut

Thursday, January 17, 2013

Magic Strikes by Ilona Andrews

Kate Daniels #3

Magic Strikes

By Ilona Andrews

Book Blurb:
Investigator for the Order of Knights of Merciful Aid, Kate Daniels keeps humans safe in Atlanta. But when her werewolf friend Derek is dying in human form, from attack by the mysterious Reaper team at the Midnight Games, she and Curran, the Beast Lord, must fight together to win the Wolf Diamond topaz and save his Pack and her friends.

Oh these Kate Daniels stories just keep getting better and better. Magic Strikes is my favourite so far. 

Magic Strikes takes us a further into Kate's background and her family tree. I really liked finally having that information. It is what I suspected but I like having the answers. 

I found myself completely immersed with Magic Strikes. I started reading in the morning and I pretty much didn't stop until it was all done. The plot was gripping and it is not a surprise to discover that I am really caring for these Atlantan characters. My heart was in my throat quite a few times in Magic Strikes ; particularly with regards to the young werewolf, Derek. 

The story primarily focused around these death defying "Midnight Games" (and I mean death defying). The winner lives, the loser is dies. No gray. Kate and Curran fighting together against the bad guys . Wow, it doesn't get any better than that. There are so many magical elements and various creatures within the Magic Strikes realm.  The story completely opens up and prepares the reader for another indepth follow up book. In fact, this review is being cut short because I just want to go and read Magic Bleeds right away. I am for sure rating this story a perfect 5 and I have a feeling each book afterwards is going to be a 5 if they follow suit. 

I do want to make a mention on how much I absolutely love that this talented writing team, Ilona Andrews is slowly bringing Kate and Curran together. This build up can be compared to climbing Mt Everest. So slow and so worth the trip to the top.  Now having said that, once they are officially together I fully expect the story lines to be just as good. I do love my couples together and I would not want book 12 to come along and they still aren't together. 

I also want to add that I am really glad that the teen, Julie (from the previous book) is looking to be a permanent character. I think Kate needs her just as much as Julie needs someone like Kate. I admit to not really caring too much for teen characters but this series has a great all round cast. 

Teasers: The way Kate arrives at Julie's school with Raphael (the were-hyena) on horses is every kid's dream. Probably one of my favourite scenes ever. 

Wednesday, January 16, 2013

Magic Burns by Ilona Andrews

Kate Daniels book #2

Magic Burns

by Ilona Andrews

Book Blurb:As a mercenary who cleans up after magic gone wrong, Kate Daniels has seen her share of occupational hazards. Normally, waves of paranormal energy ebb and flow across Atlanta like a tide. But once every seven years, a flare comes, a time when magic runs rampant. Now Kate’s going to have to deal with problems on a much bigger scale: a divine one.
When Kate sets out to retrieve a set of stolen maps for the Pack, Atlanta’s paramilitary clan of shapeshifters, she quickly realizes much more at stake. During a flare, Celtic god Morfran supersedes goddess Morrigan for witch coven worshippers of the Crow, and sea monsters from the Underworld enter via the Cauldron of Plenty. Kate starts looking for Pack maps and 13-year old Julia's witch mother, and ends up uniting shapeshifters and vampire zombie controllers to save the world.

In this book 2, Magic Burns, I learned much more information about the Kate Daniels' world...but lots of questions still remain. My strong desire to have everything explained to me right up front is thankfully receding. There is a great story behind Kate's life and I think I'm going to really enjoy piecing it together book by book. 

In book 1, Magic Bites, Kate's first words to the Beast Lord, Curran was, "Here kitty, kitty, kitty." So I had to laugh that in Magic Burns, when Kate needs to talk with Curran she phones the Keep where he lives and says, "I need an audience with his furry Highness." 
It is a shame that Curran and Kate don't meet up in Magic Burns until the 10th chapter but when they do, Curran's first words are, "You're a fucking mess." 
Honestly I am digging the chemistry. It is not thrust and forced onto the reader and the constant word barbs and banter are absolutely stellar. The romance novel junkie in me finds their interactions to be the best part of the series.

There is a lot of nonstop action. Poor Kate has to find a simple reprieve on a cement balcony with a blanket and pillow just to grab a few hours of peaceful sleep. Its a good thing that these little tidbits are included otherwise I don't know when she would ever gets a moment's rest.  

Magic Burns is so full of magically interesting characters and pulsating action. We got introduced to a few Gods, a kinky were-hyena pack, creepy oozing monsters that smell like rotting fish (yuck), witches, more time with Pack members Jim & Derek (whom I so far love) and a (so bad that he is good) hero Bran. There were a couple of adolescences kids that really lent itself for the majority of the plot. The one specially magical teen Julie that was introduced makes me wonder if she returns more often in future books. That young girl really needs a strong role model and I think Kate fits the bill perfect (even if Kate fit the crazy aunt role best)

One of my most favourite things about the writing style of these books so far is that throughout the entire story, Ilona Andrews treats the reader to smart and insightful deductions into Kate's thoughts and reasonings. The author gives credibility to all Kate's decisions. I think by allowing those extra insights grants the reader the opportunity to really connect with Kate. I found that although I really liked her in the first book, I simply loved her in Magic Burns. I am actually glad that I am behind reading this series now because I am able to jump into the next book without having to wait for a newly published novel. I almost didn't want to stop and write a review but I knew if I didn't do that, the books were merge. I'm loving the Daniels' world. 

Teasers: cauldron, tortoise witch coven,  into the mist, coffee made, "Psych"