Monday, January 27, 2014

Unforgettable Price for An Unforgettable Heroes Boxed Set

Several of Turquoise Morning Press’ award-winning and bestselling authors share their favorite contemporary romance heroes—all boxed up for you in one sexy and irresistible package! From a sexy carpenter to magnetic CEO, a rough-and-ready cowboy to a homeless man, a classic car buff, a starving artist, a Latin-style dancer, and an FBI agent—each unique hero has his own story to tell, and a heroine who just can’t forget him. Ever.

With an introductory promotional price of $0.99, how can you resist this unforgettable boxed set, either?

Release date:  TODAY!
ISBN: 978-1-62237-258-4
Format: Ebook only
Retailer Availability:  Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBooks, Kobo, 
                                                            All Romance Ebooks, and more

Promotional Price: $0.99    
Retail Price: $4.99 (April, 2014)

Eight Contemporary Romance Novels

WILL WORK FOR LOVE by Amie Denman, EPIC Award and Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence finalist. When a hurricane sweeps across St. Thomas, Whitney Oliver turns to a sexy carpenter whose secret life forces him to work for her love.

THIS MAGIC MOMENT by Bobbye Terry (writing as Daryn Cross), award winning author of contemporary, historical and fantasy romance. Zack Graham, CEO of Scrumbles Snack Cakes, is energetic, magnetic, and a workaholic who refuses to let a woman make a fool out of him again.

HER HIRED MAN by Cat Shaffer, Golden Heart finalist and award-winning writer..
Hot nights, a double sleeping bag and a stranger for a husband…how much can one city girl take?

SINS OF THE FATHER by Janet Eaves, Amazon bestselling author of the Ladies of Legend contemporary romance series. Just like the Princess in the classic tale Sleeping Beauty, Aurora’s life doesn’t really begin until her heart is awakened by a handsome struggling artist.

HOLDING OUT FOR A HERO by Jennifer Johnson, who writes comedic romances so entertaining even guys read them. Author of the TMP top-selling Rescuing Riley. Abigail Benton is a bum magnet, according to her dad. When she becomes attracted to a homeless man at the community center, she wonders if what her dad says is true.

RAWHIDE AND ROSES by Maddie James, Amazon bestselling author of contemporary and western romance. Kim Martin is hardly equipped for a Colorado camping trip, especially when her mountain guide is a rough-edged cowboy who is as untamed as the wilderness.

LONG DISTANCE LOVE by Margaret Ethridge, contemporary romance fan favorite and TMP top-selling author of Commitment. Sometimes the distance between two hearts can be measured in frequent flier miles.

SILENT PARTNER by Renee Vincent, award winning author of historical and contemporary romance.

Grayson Anders is a talented Latin-style dancer; Chloe LaRoche is a talented artist. When the two indulge in a passionate, out-of-control, one night stand, they wake the next morning consumed with inspiration. 

Friday, January 24, 2014

Audiobook Review of Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham

Franny Banks

Someday, Someday, Maybe

By Lauren Graham
Narrated by Lauren Graham

Book Blurb: 
It’s January 1995, and Franny Banks has just six months left of the three-year deadline she set for herself when she came to New York, dreaming of Broadway and doing “important” work. But all she has to show for her efforts so far is a part in an ad for ugly Christmas sweaters, and a gig waiting tables at a comedy club. Her roommates--her best friend Jane, and Dan, an aspiring sci-fi writer--are supportive, yet Franny knows a two-person fan club doesn’t exactly count as success. Everyone tells her she needs a backup plan, and though she can almost picture moving back home and settling down with her perfectly nice ex-boyfriend, she’s not ready to give up on her goal of having a career like her idols Diane Keaton and Meryl Streep. Not just yet. But while she dreams of filling their shoes, in the meantime, she’d happily settle for a speaking part in almost anything—and finding a hair product combination that works.

Everything is riding on the upcoming showcase for her acting class, where she’ll finally have a chance to perform for people who could actually hire her. And she can’t let herself be distracted by James Franklin, a notorious flirt and the most successful actor in her class, even though he’s suddenly started paying attention. Meanwhile, her bank account is rapidly dwindling, her father wants her to come home, and her agent doesn’t return her calls. But for some reason, she keeps believing that she just might get what she came for.
Someday, Someday, Maybe is a story about hopes and dreams, being young in a city, and wanting something deeply, madly, desperately. It’s about finding love, finding yourself, and perhaps most difficult of all in New York City, finding an acting job.

I'll be upfront and honest and say the only reason I got this book is because Lauren Graham wrote it. To add to that first point, the reason I wanted the audiobook was because Lauren Graham narrated it. I adore Lauren Graham so I was certainly willing to give her book "Someday, Someday, Maybe" a try. 

I have often heard that the best success a first time author could have is to write about something they know. When I was listening to Lauren Graham narrate Someday, Someday, Maybe I was thinking that I was listening to her autobiography. The story is about a struggling actress and all that she encounters as she tackles New York City with a three year plan to be a successful actress. I would bet Lauren drew from many personal experiences to write this story. There were a lot of similarities between Lauren's on-screen personalities and her personal life that mirrored that of the character, Fannie Banks. I would have to say that those similarities and how it was written is what's earning the book a 4 star and not a lesser grade from me.  Overall, I did really enjoy Lauren's debut as an author. 

There were some real laugh out loud moments from me and there were also some real long, dragging moments too. The plot itself was not a real draw from me. I don't really have an interest reading about the life a struggling actress bent on making it big. Once again, if it was not Lauren Graham, I wouldn't have even glanced at the book. The spots where I was grinning foolishly is when Fannie was trying to get herself out of spots by lying. The more she lied the more she buried herself. She'd often blurt out answers before thinking it through and the result was an accidental comedic routine. It does require a lot of talent to be comical and for Fannie, it seemed to be natural. 

Someday, Someday, Maybe offered some great friendships and no real villains of the story. There was a tad of romance and a perfect amount of comedy that prevented any forced jokes. As a narrator I wouldn't have wanted to listen to anyone but Lauren telling this story. She was just excellent. I did wish she would have changed up the character voices a wee bit more because that was the only time I struggled. The voices were all too similar and it was sometimes hard to decipher who was who. Otherwise, highly enjoyable and I am very glad I gave the audiobook a try. 

On a side note - the Kindle price is absolutely ridiculous at $15.76. Do yourself a favour and borrow this one from the library like I did. 

Teasers: Never a good idea to lie, accidental nudity, burnt orange nylons, awesome dad


Friday, January 17, 2014

Naked in Death by J.D. Robb

Roarke and Eve Dallas

Naked in Death (In Death book 1)

By J.D. Robb

Book Blurb:
It is the year 2058, and technology now completely rules the world. But New York City Detective Eve Dallas knows that the irresistible impulses of the human heart are still ruled by just one thing-passion. 

When a senator's daughter is killed, the secret life of prostitution she'd been leading is revealed. The high-profile case takes Lieutenant Eve Dallas into the rarefied circles of Washington politics and society. Further complicating matters is Eve's growing attraction to Roarke, who is one of the wealthiest and most influential men on the planet, devilishly handsome... and the leading suspect in the investigation.

I usually like to start the new year by reading a "new to me" book series. Luckily the online bookstores satisfied this once a year trend for me by putting a great series on sale. That was the case with this J.D. Robb's In Death series. It was a total steal for just $2 each for the first eight books. Now if I fall in love with this series, I just may have to entertain the fact that I will be getting the rest of the books from the library because this series is at book 38 and the ebook price tag is pricey. So far, I am impressed with book 1. 

Naked in Death is an important book because that is where it begins. Roarke and the fabulous Detective Eve first meet and the tone is set for the entire series. As much as I like Eve I  am not quite sure what it is about her that had Roarke falling for her so quickly. Granted I should shamefully eat my words here. I don't exactly picture Eve as an attractive woman but I love her persona and gusto. For that reason alone, I really liked Roarke. He strikes me as the type of man that could have any woman he wants and it was Eve that made him fall in love.

UPDATE - I LOVE this "In Death" series. I have devoured all but book 8 which I just started last night.  This first book, Naked in Death, I will rate a four but each book afterwards I have rated 5 stars each. I loved them so much that I didn't even stop long enough to write a review for Another Look Book Reviews. I just quickly jotted down some thoughts on Goodreads and moved on and immediately started the next book on the roster. 

Monday, January 13, 2014

The rise of erotic romance -

Just sharing a great article about the rise of erotic romance (which Another Look Book Reviews loves) in a Salon Magazine news article. It is kind of long but a great read. 

I too have found it easier in the past few years to sit on the football bleachers at my son's practices just openly discussing which erotic romances are good to read with other moms. If you don't like Fifty Shades, that's fine, but it was that book that gave some of my friends the courage to at least talk about it in public without dying of embarrassment. 

The article mentions some other great authors I have read. 

“People are at their most vulnerable when they’re naked together”: The rise of erotic romance -

'via Blog this'

Sunday, January 5, 2014

The Art Lover by Maggie Wells

Mitch Jameson and Kelsey Tacato's book

The Art Lover

By Maggie Wells

Book Blurb:
Starving artist Kelsey Tecato takes being The Templeton Museum’s artist in residence a little too literally. By day, she puts on a show of painting for the crowds that shuffle through the galleries, but at night, her muse runs wild.

Mitch Jameson is a guy’s guy. A cop moonlighting as a security guard, he has little use for the artsy-fartsy stuff, but the mysterious Ms. Tecato’s sexy portraits call to him.

So does an interior alarm.

When Officer Jameson goes to investigate, he finds a paint-splattered goddess working on a self-portrait—in the nude.

A couple tubes of paint and a roll in the drop cloths later, free-spirited Kelsey helps Officer Jameson discover his passion for art.

One of my favourite erotic romance authors, Maggie Wells released this little gem a few weeks ago. The Art Lover is a hot novella that was a perfect read for me. I was just in-between books with the suspense series that I am reading and The Art Lover got me all revved up. 

If you follow my reviews you know that I have a love for fictional heroines that know what they want and then take it. I adore reading about strong women and I totally connected with The Art Lover's heroine, Kelsey. In fact that confidence is what draws me to so many of Maggie Wells' books.

I found The Art Lover erotic of course but more than that, I found it very sensual. The idea of body painting, teasing with brushes and watching their intimate connection reflected in a giant gilt-framed mirror set a decadent mood. Put that all of that carnal deliciousness together in a museum backdrop setting and I was in heaven enjoying this classy sultry story. 

Teasers: Officer Mitch Jameson, swirling feathery brush around his nipple

Wednesday, January 1, 2014

Favourite Books of 2013

Since Another Look Book Reviews focuses on taking another look at previously published books, there aren't all that many books I read in 2013 that were brand new releases.

I still like to do an annual “Favourites" list but you will notice that my winning selections are on what I read this year; not on what was newly released.

If you want to see the covers of all 80 books I did read and what I choose from for this list, just follow this link, Books I Read in 2013
Of course each and every review can be found in my Reviews tab at the top. 

Favourite Re-Read
The Outlander Series by Diana Gabaldon

You know a book is good when you opt to do a re-read instead of picking up a new book to start for the first time. Re-reading the Outlander series went hand in hand with my dream to Scotland this past July 13. If you want to see some of my Scotland trip, here is the link from my blog Scotland Trip

Favourtie Bad Ass - Male
Undeniable by Madeline Sheehan

didn't even hesitate to name Deuce from Madeline Sheehan’s Undeniable series. Deuce is a character that I absolutely LOVE but under no circumstances would I ever in a million years want for myself. I could never get tired reading about Deuce.

Favourite Bad Ass – Heroine
Fifth Grave Past the Light  by Darynda Jones

Oh Charley Davidson I adore you. This was the only series this year that I bought where the ebook was way over my usual $$ limit. I had to read it. I needed to own it. Charley is everything I love about a heroine. She is funny, sexy, smart, and fiercely loyal and is still learning the extent of her extremely powerful abilities. Fifth Grave Past the Light, a serious favourite!

Favourite Emotional Read
The Edge of Courage by Elaine Levine

Edge of Courage is dark and moving and touching and edgy and suspenseful and steamy and sad and and and…well I guess you see why I have it as my most emotional read. Also if you follow the Edge of Courage link, it is FREE on Amazon. 

Biggest Disappointment
Fantasy Lover & Night Pleasures by Sherrilyn Kenyon
These books are so highly rated in reviews and there are so many books in the series that I had slowly built up and bought them all. I had a plan to sit down and read them all one by one, back to back. I read the first book and didn't like it but I went ahead and read the second book hoping it was a fluke. It wasn't and I really disliked it. I guess I will just sell the series at a garage sale this summer. 

Favourite Cover
Cheapskates in Love by Evelyn Jules

Not only is this cover totally adorable but the novella written inside was one of my favourites of 2013. Cheapskates in Love is an excellent little romantic comedy that put a big smile on my face.

Favourite Couple
Archangel’s Legion by Nalini Singh

Wow this was a really tough category to choose from because there are some awesome couples to choose in the world of romance. However Raphael and Elena just rocked my world in Archangel's Legion. I just adore this couple and I hope that there are lots and lots more books to come.

Favourite New Series
Hot Nights in St Blaise by Maggie Wells

The series is based around a sexy calendar where the staff from St. Blaise Hospital poses in their birthday suit for each of the months. Each month's story is represented by that month's calendar pin up. I was provided an ARC for the first release and then ended up looking forward and buying the following months. The beauty is that each of the books could be stand alones. 

Favourite "New to Me" Author
Marie Force

This category was another super hard selection to choose from because I read a lot of "New to Me" Authors in 2013. It was my last year's New Years Resolution to read a "New To Me" Author once a month. I was really pulled to this series and the writing was excellent. Fatal Affair was just the beginning for me. 

I wanted to pick a favourite book of the year but I can't. I just can't do it. I was so fortunate to read some amazing 5 star books this year. I finally read Ilona Andrews' Kate Daniel series, I read the most highly anticipated Karen Marie Moning's Iced, continued on with Julie Anne Long's Pennyroyal Green series and I even read one of my very first YA book series - The Hunger Games. I discovered some awesome "New to Me" authors and I hope to do so again this year in 2014. 

If you have popped in over the past year and read a review or two, thank you. Hopefully you some one of my favourites to one of yours. 

Here's to some amazing new reads in 2014!